The Murphy Administration today announced that Atlantic City has been designated as a Transit Village, making it the 35th municipality to be recognized since the initiative began in 1999.

The state’s Transit Village Initiative connects designated municipalities with a task force comprised of 10 state agencies that help implement mixed-use development and Complete Streets accommodations near transit facilities. The agencies that make up the Transit Village Task Force, which includes the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) and NJ TRANSIT, can provide funding and technical assistance through their programs to municipalities that have been designated as a Transit Village. Read more from NJDOT News.